Last night the power was down for a few hours, so I sat practicing the guitar a little in the dark. I have two torches, which were useful for getting around, but I need get some candles as well. I don’t know what I’ll do if the internet and power goes permanently… At night I heard someone screaming quite close to my apartment. It happens from time to time, both during the day and the night, but today was closer than usual. Thankfully no one came to the door though.

Onions

I went out in the truck again today, keeping an extra vigilant eye out, but I didn’t see anyone. Although I couldn’t find candles,  I did manage to pick up a few things of use. Outside the front door of a house there were some pot plants, so I put them in the truck and brought them back to my veranda. I also got some onions that were hanging out to dry, which is amazing. I haven’t had fresh vegetables in a while now, although I’ve been making good progress on my mandarin collection.

A few of the houses around here are unlocked, and after calling out to see if anyone was inside, I have slowly been working through a few of them and bolstering my supplies. I don’t want to take from anyone who is still alive here, but if the houses are unoccupied or abandoned is it really that bad? Everything will just go off anyway.

img_3366
Hello? Anybody there?

It’s really spooky going into someone’s house and not knowing what I’ll find. It hasn’t been too bad, but I have encountered a few older people in their futons, who must have died in their sleep. I guess that’s a good way to go, but over time it reinforces how alone I am here, and just how terrible this situation is.

Not to be crass, but on the plus side I have managed to pick up a bit more food, as well as a few other things that could be useful. I now have a spade, a machete and battery operated radio. I figure the radio could be useful if the internet goes down. I’ve also been out fishing a few times, although it takes me a really long time and I’m starting to get pretty bored of fish. I never used to eat fish much anyway.

No one here
This is what the town looks like. It can be a little depressing at times…

img_3298Alex just posted this picture from a place near his bar as I was writing this. I couldn’t help myself. I just started crying when I saw it. Like, properly weeping. I should put some flowers out for the guy that… I killed… I held down and bludgeoned to death… Ahh, I still can’t forget it. I still see that pool of blood and hear the dull thud of the bag of cans smashing in his head. Putting together my garden had felt cathartic and I was almost able to forget about everything that was happening for a short while. I guess I can’t escape the reality of this situation long. I’ll get some flowers tomorrow. I guess it’s the least I can do after watching him cremate his wife in an oil drum, caving in his head and then robbing his house. I’m going to bed now.

Leave a Reply

