We were lucky that there were some cooking utensils in the kitchen of the camp site. However, we are low on food and we aren’t close to the river anymore, so that means no fish. It’s nice being able to rest up a little, but we really can’t stay here long. Today Ayako made curry, but didn’t even have rice to go with it. That was our first hot meal since leaving the school, and lifted everyone’s spirits a bit. Japanese curry is considered one of the ultimate comfort foods here. I always think it’s more like beef stew with a little curry powder in it than real curry, but I was not complaining today. As the flames licked the pot in the barbeque pit, the smell rising from the curry made my stomach grumble in a way I’ve never experienced before. There’s only so long you can survive comfortably on dried sweet potatoes and dried noodle snacks.

img_3480Everyone has been finding their own ways to pass the time. I did some drawing with Risa and she drew this picture of me. I was really, really impressed. Taro and Ayako went somewhere for a walk together after we finished eating. When they got back, I showed them Risa’s picture, and they said they had no idea she could draw like that. I told them I could help her develop her artistic abilities, and they seemed pleased with that. In fact, I think they are just happy for any normality she can get in her life, and anything to distract her from the situation we, and the whole country are in. While we were drawing, we also used a bit of English together. Mostly just short, simple phrases, but she seems to be enjoying it.

Alex has been working away at translating a Korean new article that he found online. Is there anything that guy can’t do? I had no idea he could read Korean. He says that his Japanese is better, so it’s slow going, but it’s a pretty big story, so he wants to get it right. He should have it ready by the end of the day.

I’m still checking the news, but it’s patchy at best. I was surprised to see an article about someone who had managed to get out of Japan, which caught my interest. Apparently they had taken a fishing boat from Okinawa to Taiwan. The government are holding him for testing, and not sharing many details about his escape. I suppose they don’t really know what to do with him, as they can’t take him back to Japan at the moment. I guess they also don’t want to say too much about how he made it past the military into Taiwan, in case everyone gets the idea to flee there. Seeing the article did give me a little hope that we’ll be able to get out of this alive though. I told the others about it and they were really excited. Naturally, there was no mention of the escape in the Japanese news.

Alex has been working away at translating a Korean new article that he found online. Is there anything that guy can’t do? I had no idea he could read Korean. He says that his Japanese is better, so it’s slow going, but it’s a pretty big story, so he wants to get it right. He should have it ready by the end of the day.

 

Leave a Reply

