Sorry for the lack of update yesterday. I started a few times, but I just couldn’t think of anything to write. I ate, walked around with Ayako and Risa, and talked briefly with a few people, but they didn’t have much to say. Alex still isn’t back, but I did get a short message from him this morning. He said he was up in Mie with the SDF scouting out a town that has a particularly large number of infected. He didn’t say what they were doing with the infected, but I haven’t seen any evidence of the suggestion from the news that the SDF are treating or looking after infected people.

It’s hard to believe, but I’m starting to get bored. After spending so long traveling around different areas of Wakayama and looking after ourselves as best we could, it’s a strange feeling to be confined to one place with nothing to do. I don’t know if I would call it a development or not, but recently as I walk with Risa and Ayako, I’ve been walking between them and holding both of their hands. I know she’s probably just missing Taro and it’s nothing more than that though. I had actually thought she was more interested in Alex, but it is nice to feel close to someone. I was quite surprised the first time I felt her hand slip into mine, but that has been a nice new ‘development’.

The biggest news I have though is that I had another email from Nagano. For all the good luck they have had up at the ski resort in Nagano, it seems that have just experienced their first attack in weeks. Apparently a guy who in retrospect hadn’t been looking great for a little while just snapped and attacked another man without provocation. Nobody realised he was infected and thought it was just a scuffle until the biting started. Before the infected man could be pulled off and detained, he bit a chunk out of his victim’s arm and throat. There was nothing that could be done for the man, and though the infected guy thrashed about like a wild animal, he was eventually able to be detained by 8 people and dragged off to their makeshift cell. I don’t know what they are going to do with him now that they have him secure, but I guess they’ll have to give him food or let him starve. I’m glad I’m not in that position, and I’m really sorry for both him and the person he attacked.

They’re still thinking about what they can do to prevent this kind of thing from happening again, and were wondering if we had any ideas. I don’t really know what suggest though. We’ve barely had a chance to settle in one place for more than a few days since this whole thing started. Pretty much everything we’ve done has been a reaction to the situation we find ourselves in and I still haven’t had that much of a chance to think about what is causing this infection or how to avoid it.

Leave a Reply

