Kei hasn’t replied yet, but I did have a bit of a look on his Facebook. Seems like he’s made it out of the karaoke box building and is somewhere in Osaka. He left three Facebook posts in a row that all seem pretty intense. Here’s the first one, which was posted early this morning:

I’ve left the Karaoke box. The food was dwindling down to nothing and people were really starting to get agitated with each other. I put a rope out of the window and scaled down to the roof of the building next door. Once I got to the street I kept going until I couldn’t walk anymore. The last station I saw was unfamiliar to me, but in the dark I didn’t feel like investigating. I’m on the roof of a three story building now. I managed to find some food at a convenience store. Mostly rotten food and chocolate bars, but better than nothing.

The second one was posted sometime just before noon:

Sleeping on concrete sucks. I woke up starving and it felt like I was dying of thirst. I kept going down the street and found a McDonalds. The freezer was still working and there was a ton of food. I managed to get some of the kitchen equipment working and made some burgers. The fries wouldn’t take because the oil was disgusting and I have no clue how to change it. I think I have enough cheap burgers in my bag now to last me years. Anyone out there?

The last one was posted just a few minutes ago:

Still no contact with anyone else… I found a furniture store. It was unlocked. I searched it up and down, high and low, but found nobody else. I will, finally, sleep in a bed tonight. I have burgers, I have water bottles, and a bed. I couldn’t be happier, especially after last night and the last week in the karaoke box… It’s starting to get really hot outside, though. Walking is becoming a real pain in the ass. Is anyone still in the city? Where are these camps the news reports were talking about? I don’t want to be alone much longer…

I left him a comment asking him if he could make it down to where we are, but I haven’t heard back from him yet. It’d be great if we could watch up, but if the cities are actually as safe as everyone seems to think they are, then he’s probably alright where he is. It’s strange to read Facebook now… Everyone back home still posts about their daily lives like everything is normal and happy and fine. I feel like I’m on a different planet. I’ve only read a few posts from people I know in Japan and all of them just seem desperate or scared or asking for help. I wish there was more I could do.

Shinoda assures me that once we’ve all made it to safety, the SDF will do whatever they can to rescue everyone who’s still around and help with the slow reconstruction of Japan. He says they’ll even be continuing to support the infected. Once he wasn’t paying attention to us anymore, Ayako whispered to me that she doesn’t believe or really trust him. I didn’t know how to respond to her. It’s so hard to know what to believe. Risa has been really quiet as well lately. I don’t want to give up and I don’t want them to give up either.

Leave a Reply

